The Financial Aid Office is dedicated to working with students who wish to attend law school and need financial assistance to do so. We will provide you with step by step instructions on how to apply for Federal Loans and Federal Work Study.
To apply for financial aid, including need-based scholarships, grants and loans, complete and submit the FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) online at www.fafsa.ed.gov. Financial aid is granted on an annual basis and awards are subject to student eligibility and availability of funds. It is strongly recommended that you submit your FAFSA as early as October 1. There are also a variety of merit-based scholarships available.
Our Financial Aid Handbook is a good reference during this process.
Students are encouraged to take a proactive approach toward financing planning. To discuss your financial needs please make an appointment with Financial Aid advisor by contacting the Office of Financial Aid at 904-516-8660.
Federal Title IV Code G33743
Applying for Financial Aid
- Complete and submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) at www.fafsa.ed.gov; enter the school code for Florida Coastal School of Law G33743.
- Receive a copy of your Student Aid Report (SAR).
- After you have been admitted to Florida Coastal and submitted your FAFSA, you will receive a packet from the Financial Aid Office.
- If you are chosen for verification (refer to your SAR) and you plan on working in the Federal Work-study Program you should contact the Financial Aid Office.
- Complete and return the Florida Coastal School of Law financial aid application and student certification.
- Once we have received the above items we will mail to you an award notice which will include instructions on how to complete your online promissory note.
- After receiving your award notice, first-time Coastal Law students need to go to Esign to electronically sign a promissory note.
- First-time Coastal Law students must also complete online Entrance Counseling. This is required even if you have completed entrance counseling at a previous school.
- Once you have completed the above steps, the Financial Aid office will transmit your loan information to the Department of Education.
- Your funds will be sent to the Finance Office. Funds will be applied to your account and any remaining funds after all charges are paid will be issued to you approximately the second week of class. Questions concerning refunds should be directed to the Finance Office at 904-680-7726.
- Upon graduating, leaving school for any reason, or enrolling less than half time, federal regulations require you to complete Exit Counseling.
- You must reapply for Financial Aid each year.
Intersession Financial Aid
Students taking intersession classes may request to include the cost of the intersession classes into the total cost of attendance for financial aid purposes. However, most students are already receiving the maximum amount of federal loans during the regular semesters and would have to request additional funds in private loans or Grad PLUS loans.
- Fall 2019 Full-Time Cost of Attendance (including living expenses) = $31,628
- Maximum Federal Direct Stafford Loans = $10,250
- Maximum Grad PLUS = $21,378
- Include 2-Hour Fall 2019 Intersession Class Tuition = $4,000
- Total Cost of Attendance (Fall 2019 Intersession + Fall 2019 Regular) = $35,628
- Maximum Federal Direct Stafford Loans = $10,250
- Maximum Grad PLUS = $25,378
To include the Intersession class into your cost of attendance, after registering for the class, notify the Financial Aid Office. If you have any questions, please stop by or call our office.
Federal Work Study
Some part time jobs (maximum of 20 hours per week) are available as part of the need based Federal Work Study program. You can only work while classes are in session and NOT during semester breaks.
Students are NOT guaranteed employment. Students who are interested in working will need to come to the Financial Aid Office to see if they qualify for Federal Work Study and review a list of available positions. Students will then be referred to the department for an interview. There may be some positions available for community service for local non- profit and community based organizations. Most community service positions require the student to be at least a second year law student.
Your award notice will list by semester the maximum amount you are allowed to earn. If you work over the awarded amount, it may affect your eligibility for other aid.
NOTE: If you plan on trying to acquire a Federal Work Study postion, you should NOT apply for the maximum amount in the Grad PLUS loan.
Student Billing and Stipends
Student Account Statement (Pre-Bill Report) - Is available online in the student portal under the “My Finances” tab. This report summarizes tuition and fee charges, financial aid, payments made, and the resulting balance due to the student or the school. This report is available for new starts after access has been provided for online pre-orientation; and after the student's first semester, this report will be available after you have registered for classes. The pre bill report will change real time as changes are made to your class schedule, financial aid or if payments are made. You should review the pre-bill report frequently so you can make any necessary financial arrangements to insure your tuition and fees are paid in full no later than the first day of classes after the add/drop period (per the pre-bill report and academic calendar) in accordance with established payment policies.
Account Information - Is available online in the student portal under the “My Finances” tab. This report represents the historical tuition and fee charges, financial aid and payments that have been posted to your student account (within a week after the add/drop period). After the final transactions have been posted to your student account the account information and pre-bill report will agree.
Forms of Payment Accepted
Check (ACH) and credit/debit card payments can be made online in the student portal under the "My Finances" tab. No fee is charged for check (ACH) payments, however, a 2% convenience fee is accessed for credit/debit card payments. To set up an online payment from your checking or your credit/debit card account, go to the student portal and under the "My Finances" tab and select the proper links. Cash and checks are accepted and are posted upon receipt. In addition, student loans are received electronically throughout the term and will be posted to the students account immediately upon receipt.
Stipends (Refund Checks) - Student stipends occur when a credit balance is shown on your student account which is due primarily to financial aid payments (loans and scholarships), adjustments to your class schedule (during drop/add period), and/or payments posted to your account, which are in excess of your charges. Stipends can ONLY be obtained by direct deposit (via ACH) into your bank account (paper checks will not be issued) - to set up: go to the student portal under the "My Finances" tab and select the proper links. It's very important to set up your stipend for direct deposit during the add/drop (during or before, the first week of classes) period to insure your stipend is not delayed. You will receive an e-mail and a web alert (student portal) when your stipend is ready.
Stipends that occur from loans are processed and provided to students throughout the semester within 3 business days of receipt of the loans. The first stipends will be distributed no later than one week after the add/drop period after all student academic status' and all student account adjustments are final.
Stipends that occur from over payments and changes to your class schedule, or from a leave of absence or a withdraw that occur during the add/drop period will be provided to the student during the second week of classes after all charges and payments have been finalized.
Tuition and Fees and Withdraws
Tuition, fees, and other charges, including late fees and interest, are the responsibility of the student. Tuition and fee payments are due no later than the first day of classes after the add/drop period (per the academic calendar). If you withdraw after the add/drop period, you are obligated to pay Florida Coastal School of Law for all charges incurred for the semester.
Ron Bambacus, Controller
The Finace Office is located in #375 inside the Dean's Suite, and is open weekdays 9:00 am – 5:30 pm.
Leave of Absence
In compliance with federal regulations, for Federal financial aid purposes, a Leave of Absence is treated the same as a withdrawal. If you are considering taking a leave of absence, please be aware of the following:
- In accordance with financial aid regulations, a leave of absence cannot exceed 180 days. If your leave of absence exceeds 180 days your loan will go into repayment status.
- You must make a written request to be granted a leave of absence (refer to student handbook for procedure); and
- You will be required to complete exit counseling.
- It will be necessary to reapply for loans upon return to school.
- You must notify the Financial Aid Office upon your return to school, so that your lender, guaranty agency, and National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) can be notified.
You will be billed for any amount due to FCSL as a result of Title IV funds that were returned that would have been used to cover FCSL charges.
For students who receive federal financial aid and who withdraw (including transfers and leaves of absence) from ALL classes on or before 60% of the term has elapsed, Florida Coastal will calculate, according to federal regulations, any amounts disbursed that must be returned to the Title IV programs.
Step 1: Determine the percentage of the enrollment period the student attended before withdrawing (days attended divided by total days in the period).
Step 2: Determine the amount of Title IV aid earned by multiplying the total Title IV aid for which the student was awarded by the percentage of time enrolled.
Step 3: Compare the amount earned to the amount disbursed. If more aid was disbursed than earned, determine the amount of Title IV aid that must be returned by subtracting the earned amount from the disbursed amount.
Step 4: Allocate the responsibility for returning unearned aid between the school and the student according to the portion of disbursed aid that could have been used to cover institutional charges and the portion that could have been disbursed directly to the student once the institutional charges were covered.
Step 5: Distribute the unearned funds back to the appropriate Title IV program.
You will be billed for any amount due to Florida Coastal as a result of Title IV funds that were returned that would have been used to cover Florida Coastal charges.