Don’t miss this week’s Law Review Symposium

This Friday, March 4th, The Law Review will hold its Annual Symposium, A Decade of Transformation: The Continuing Impact of 9/11 on National Security and Civil Liberties. The event will be in Room 550 from 9:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. Breakfast and lunch will be provided. Register by sending an email to and include “Symposium Registration” in the subject line. Speakers include Professor Steven Vladeck of American University, Professor Mark Schulman of Pace Law School, Professor Tung Yin of Lewis & Clark Law School, Professor Afsheen John Radsan of William Mitchell College of Law, Professor Sahar Aziz of Georgetown University, and Dr. Saby Ghoshray, Esq.

This is a final reminder that the deadline for submitting applications for in house clinics and non-judicial credit bearing externships for this summer is this Wednesday, March 2 at 5:00 P.M. Applications are available online and in the Clinic Office, Room 255. This deadline does not apply to externships outside the northeast Florida area which students are arranging. Any questions can be directed to Professor Lynn McDowell.

Two Moot Court teams reached the semi-finals at the Washington, D.C. regional in the National Appellate Advocacy Competition hosted by the American Bar Association. Third-years Chris Saba and Ellen Germuska served as oralists and Casey Hester served as the brief writer, completing the preliminary rounds undefeated and the top-ranked team in a field of more than thirty teams, including Harvard, Georgetown and William & Mary. Casey Hester won Best Brief, Third and Chris Saba Best Advocate, Sixth. The second-year team of Rebecca Grimes, Kari Anne Bowden and Amanda Isaacs also reached the semi-final round. In addition, Amanda Isaacs won the Best Brief, Second award. Ari Zaraineh served as the Team Manager. Professor Sander Moody coached both teams.

Congratulations also to another moot court team for reaching the quarter-finals at the National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition in New York. This competition is the largest single-site moot court competition in the country with over eighty law schools competing. Liberty Haray served as the brief writer and argued in one of the preliminary rounds. Veronica Saavedra and Angelina Zon served as the oralists. Alyssa Yarbrough was the Team Manager. Professor Andy Long and Professor Nick Martino coached the team. Veronica Saavedra was named the best advocate in each of the team’s three preliminary rounds.

Coastal Law is pleased to announce the 2011-2012 executive board for the Mock Trial team. The members are as follows:

President–Carlos Mora
VP of New Member Education–Rocco Carbone
VP of Internal Competition–Samantha Smart
VP of Communications–Timothy Miller
VP of Standards–Juan Cabrera

Congratulations to all.

Comments Off on Don’t miss this week’s Law Review Symposium

Filed under Uncategorized

Share This Page

Comments are closed.