Coastal Law receives Keep Jacksonville Beautiful Award

Florida Coastal was the recipient of a Keep Jacksonville Beautiful Award presented at the Mayor’s Environmental Luncheon in Jacksonville.

The awards presented at the luncheon involved environmental initiatives completed in 2010. Florida Coastal was selected based on environmental excellence on campus and in the local community, including the Coastal Clean-up event at Jacksonville Beach and the Raising the Bar event to clean-up and beautify the Clara White Mission. Both of those events were sponsored and promoted by the Florida Coastal Chapter of the Florida Bar Young Lawyers Law Student Division (YLD).

An important contributing factor in Coastal’s receipt of the award is the ongoing work by the Environmental Law Society (ELS), including the active promotion of on campus recycling efforts and off-campus service projects. The work by ELS students includes the annual planting of sea oats along the coast through teamwork and effective fundraising. Chris Vignieri is a YLD Legislator, and he accepted the award from Mayor Peyton on behalf of our students that contribute to these important environmental initiatives. Thanks to Amanda Perry for nominating Coastal Law for this award.

The Florida Coastal Law Review was recently cited by the Indiana Court of Appeals. In a decision issued last week, the court cited Alec Rothrock’s article, The Forgotten Flat Fee: Whose Money Is It And Where Should It Be Deposited? which was published by our law review in 1999. See 1 Fla. Coastal L.J. 293, 299 (1999).

Finally, congratulations to the new SBA leadership. The new officers are listed below.

Executive Council

  • President: John Daly
  • VP Internal: Dawn Owens
  • VP External: Brett Burkett
  • Treasurer: JC Cabrera
  • Secretary: Stefano Portigliatti

3L Honor Court Justice

  • Gregory Brescia
  • Bryan Haskins
  • Stephen Kelly
  • Kara Kennedy

3L Honor Court Defense

  • Glen Harper
  • Manny Souza

3L Honor Court Prosecutor

  • Ashley Mah
  • Darley Richard

2L Honor Court Justice

  • Holly Bayham
  • Jessica Jowers
  • Dennis Uhlmann Jr.

2L Honor Court Defense

  • Kyle Brady

2L Honor Court Prosecutor

  • Alex Pendolino

Comments Off on Coastal Law receives Keep Jacksonville Beautiful Award

Filed under Uncategorized

Share This Page

Comments are closed.